Philosophy Department Faculty

Leading the study of philosophy with an expert perspective.

The faculty of the philosophy program have an international reputation for scholarship, as evidenced by the research published, awards granted and fellowships earned by department members. Click on faculty names for more information about each professor’s research, experience and contact information.


Shawn Kaplan
Department Chair
Alumnae Hall, Room 124
p – 516.877.4576
f – 516.877.4579
e –


Associate Professors

Shawn Kaplan
Department Chair

Sokthan Yeng

Assistant Professors

Alex Neitzke  

Adjunct Faculty

Cathy Gutierrez

Adam Israel

Joshua Kaye

Matthew M. Konig

Alan Wachtel

Ting Yih


For further information, please contact:

Department of Philosophy
Alumnae Hall Room 111
p – 516.877.4580

Apply Now
Request Information